BELLFLOWER UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT

Standard of Excellence; Nothing Less

16703 South Clark Avenue - Bellflower, California 90706

(562) 866-9011 Ext. 3417 · Fax (562) 866-7713

<u>Citizens' Oversight Committee Meeting</u> Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I. Call to order: Meeting was called to order at 4:00pm in the Board Room at the District Office, by Chairperson Hannah Flanagan-Flores.

In Attendance: Thuy Binh, Marcy Delgado, Hannah Flanagan-Flores, Greg Jue, Rick Kemppainen, Linda Morgan, and Kirk Real.

Excused Absences: Edie McConnell

II. Agenda Adoption: Greg Jue moved to adopt the agenda as presented. Motion seconded and carried.

III. Approval of Minutes: Linda Morgan moved to approve the minutes of the March, 20, 2014 meeting as submitted. Motion was seconded and carried.

IV. District Reports

a. Quarterly Financial Report presented by Thuy Binh.

District currently spent a total of \$122,915 on the following projects:

Roofing (various school sites)	\$23,331
Ron Yary Football Field Renovation (Bellflower HS)	\$84,319
Technology WiFi Project (Las Flores)	\$ 9,130
Academic Building (Mayfair Middle/High School)	\$ 5,435
HVAC & Electrical (Thomas Jefferson)	\$ 700

More detailed breakdown of projects listed by project and school site were also provided.

b. Project Status Report presented by Marcy Delgado

Thomas Jefferson project is underway. Committee is able to visit site if interested. Provided a list of other bids for GO Bond Projects for committees review.

c. Web Site Update: Website has been updated including pictures of project sites. They will continue to add photos and information as the projects take place.

V. Action Items:

a. Annual Report Approval

Kirk moved to approve the annual report for submission. Motion was seconded and carried.

VI. Other: Rachel Verwys has resigned from the Citizens' Oversight Committee.

Dr. Jacobs is working on finding replacement.

VII. Next meeting will be held on Thursday, October 23, 2014 at 4pm in the District Board Room.

VIII. Adjournment: Meeting was adjourned at 4:20pm

Submitted by:

Date approved:

Linda Morgan Secretary

<u>Committee Members</u> Hannah Flanagan-Flores, Chairperson Gregory R. Jue, Vice Chairperson

Kirk Real Linda Morgan, Secretary

Rick Kemppainen Edie McConnell <u>Committee Members</u> Hannah Flanagan-Flores, Chairperson Gregory R. Jue, Vice Chairperson

Kirk Real Linda Morgan, Secretary